Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I have a PowerColor EvilMaster II (ATI Radeon 8500 64MB DDR DVI+TV 275MHz)

When doing searches on the AVS forum about the gamma problem and other radeon 8500 questions, I've come across the phrases Powered by and Built by ATI.

Aparantly they require different drivers and perhaps the Powered by have some disabled features?

I've seen references to people flashing the Retail ATI bios onto their 2nd/3rd party cards to be able to use the ATI drivers...

Since my card is PowerColor I assume its *Powered by*

Should I search out these flash util's and ATI retail bios and flash my bios?

Can someone explain the difference between PB and BB ATI? and any lost features I may have because my card is PB?

Or if you know where this info is provide a link to it?

Thanks

Trik

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
I think the names are self-evident.

ATi sells cards under their own name. These are Built By ATi. They also sell their chips to other companies who make cards. They are just Powered By.

Powered By cards will not accept ATi drivers since they are not ATi cards. A flash utility makes them think they are and accept the drivers. People do this because the 3rd party drivers tend to not work so well.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have installed the ATI drivers.

The instlation didn't fail and wasn't aborted because my card isn't Built By...

So I guess my card is a remarked ATI card....

·
Registered
6,227 Posts
Please refer to the same search tips I gave our Dutch member here

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi,

Thanks.

I tried that and recieved 11 pages of topics that built by and powerd by were in.

I was hoping someone would know of a condensed or combined thread.

Scanning thru 220 or so threads, where many are multipage is kinda time consuming.

Also some may contain inaccurate, incomplete info.