AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

Could anyone throw me some names of high quaility Pre/Pro's please? I wish to do some further research.

I may want to go the Pre/Pro + Amp route with my new HT. But, again, I don't know very much about todays AVR's and Pre/Pro's. I am looking at getting some quality speakers, so I want quality signal going to them. I am an electronics technician by trade, so I fully understand electronic theory.

I have read about the problems with the Emotiva. Their amps look nice, but stay with what you're good at!

So first question... If I want True HD and DTS-HD MA (or other formats) and the avr/pre/pro does not decode them, then it would be best to go with the, say Oppo BD-83SE and send analog to the avr/pre/pro? This would save money on the avr/pre/pro end correct?

Basically what I'm thinking is that it doesn't matter where you decode the lossless codecs, as long as they get decoded and amplified correct? So why have an avr/pre/pro and a Blu-Ray player that can both decode when only 1 will ever be used at a time?

Is this why some , for example, would recommend the cheaper Onkyo 807 vs the 5007?

·
Registered
22,119 Posts
i'd suggest to go with an avr...

especially since i saw the words "save money" in your post...

most any "new" avr will decode the formats... decoding has become a checkbox item these days...

running analog from a player to an avr "works", but makes bass management complicated, and most cdp's bass management is crude at best... fwiw, the se is overkill for movie use, even if you are doing the d/a conversion in the player...

decide what speakers first... THEN the electronics...

what is your budget?

·
Registered
239 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vipervick /forum/post/18293049

Hi folks,

Could anyone throw me some names of high quaility Pre/Pro's please? I wish to do some further research.