AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the market for a pre-amp/processor with hdmi inputs to be used with a PS3 as a blu-ray player. I'm a newbie to the use of separates and on a somewhat limited budget. I'm not concerned about video scaling but want to get the most out of the PS3 for lossless audio tracks. I'm currently using an older JVC receiver with preout thru an Outlaw Audio amp and would consider another receiver with pre-out if someone has a good suggestion. I'm new to the forum and learning alot from all the helpful info here. Thanks in advance for help in this area.

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Lexicon MC12-HD, Halcro SSP100/80. Those are not for "limited budget"...

Anthem AVM40: HDMI inputs, no scaler

Anthem AVM50 and D2; Gennum VXP scaler and HDMI inputs

On a "limited budget", then the AVM40 would be your best bet if you want a pre/pro. Or you could simply buy a receiver at a much lower price.

·
Registered
3,439 Posts
What rev HDMI are the Anthems? 1.1, 1.2(a)? They do accept audio? 8 channels PCM 24/96?

·
Registered
1,992 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2husky1 /forum/post/0

I'm in the market for a pre-amp/processor with hdmi inputs to be used with a PS3 as a blu-ray player. I'm a newbie to the use of separates and on a somewhat limited budget. I'm not concerned about video scaling but want to get the most out of the PS3 for lossless audio tracks. I'm currently using an older JVC receiver with preout thru an Outlaw Audio amp and would consider another receiver with pre-out if someone has a good suggestion. I'm new to the forum and learning alot from all the helpful info here. Thanks in advance for help in this area.

Perhaps I can help out by actually answering your question.

Emotiva LMC-1 $499.99

It has HDMI 2 in 1 out

·
Premium Member
1,571 Posts

Quote: