AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So just picked up some Infinity Primus 363 for 115 at frys. I am new to this whole HT setup business. I am a college student on a budget.

Originally I was thinking about getting the Denon 1913 to go with it. But reading all this stuff on needing 4ohm outs. So leaning towards the Denon 2313

My goal currently is just the two 363s and a receiver.

But in the near future (6-12mo) would like to complete the setup for a full 5.1 setup.

I have a open floor plan for the next 10months til I move out, but its a kitchen/dining room/living room with 9ft ceilings. where the speakers will be.

So my question is,

Is the 1913 good enough to handle a 5.1 with the Primus 363s? Should I go with the Denon 2313(since it has preouts) 500-600 is max for the reciver i can comfortably spend

Do I need a Pre Amp?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. I want to do the setup right the first time, and thats why I came here, be mean and whatever just dont want to have to constantly upgrade.

·
Premium Member
7,773 Posts
The 363s are pretty efficient speakers. The 1913 should be sufficient. However, the 2313 does include Audyssey MultEQ XT as well as pre-outs. The 2113 might be a better buy as it features XT as well (but no pre-outs). I would be surprised if you needed an external amp unless your new space is extremely large and you enjoy listening at very loud volumes.

Reactions: SLIDEx

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by postrokfan  /t/1471619/primus-363-speakers-which-reciever-to-boot#post_23286570

The 363s are pretty efficient speakers. The 1913 should be sufficient. However, the 2313 does include Audyssey MultEQ XT as well as pre-outs. The 2113 might be a better buy as it features XT as well (but no pre-outs). I would be surprised if you needed an external amp unless your new space is extremely large and you enjoy listening at very loud volumes.