AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hello,

I'm having trouble 5.1 from my laptop to my TV.

I'm having following:

- Laptop is HP ProBook 470 i7 that has HDMI port.

- TV is Samsung 46C7000

- AV Receiver Yamaha HTR5930

My TV is connected with Optical audio cable to AV receiver and I'm getting 5.1 from TV, when I play HD digital channels and files from USB stick (Dolby Digital from AC3 and DTS), usually from MKV files.

Now I have connected my laptop through HDMI to my TV (and TV has outside speakers set). I get sound but I only get PCM stereo and not 5.1 which is being played.

In my settings it only shows 2 channels.

I hope I have posted in correct forum, if not please forgive me. I'm new to this and I'm having trouble with audio. I hope you guys will be able to help me.

Thanks in advance for any help and advices!

Best regards,

Aldy

·
Registered
2,767 Posts
You should be able to check sounds when you go into "control panel" then "hardware and sounds" then "sound" in your computer.

The hdmi cable has to be connected usually before you go into these settings though. I find it helpful to plug the hdmi into the laptop before opening any media.

·
Registered
10,866 Posts
The TV probably only supports 2-channel PCM coming from HDMI sources, which is exactly what your laptop is reporting. The negotiation for AV parameters is handled automatically (EDID), and many TVs will only output digital audio from their internal sources, not repeat audio from HDMI inputs, regardless.

Correct answer is to run all HDMI sources to your AVR and then to the TV, so that the AVR reports "better" capabilities than what the TV would support.

Jeff

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Thanks both of you for your replies.