AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I'm brand new to the whole 3D blu ray thing. I just set up my 3D capable TV two days ago and bought my first 3D blu ray yesterday! However, once everything is connected, the disc says that one of the components is not compatible and needs to be updated. I've run firmware and software updates on every device so far, but nothing seems to be working. Thor: The Dark World 3D is the movie I was trying to view. I thought maybe it isn't playing yet because its brand new, but other people and reviewers have been able to view the film in 3D. Maybe I'm overlooking something?

I'm using:

Panasonic Viera P50ST60 TV

Playstation 3 console

Denon AVR-E300 receiver

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Should also note that once I put the disc in, the PS3 recognized it as 3D content, and asked me to confirm my screen size. It's once I choose my language on the disc that it says things are not compatible and won't go any further.

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
I'd run an HDMI cable straight to your TV. It says your receiver passes 3D; however it might be the problem. If you connect it directly from the PS3 to the TV and you still get that message you know it isn't your receiver and it's either the PS3 or a setting on your TV

Sent from my iPhone, excuse the typos

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

I will try that when I get home, thanks!

As an aside, I did try some 3D streaming content from the PS4 Vudu app, and the 3D worked just fine on there. My active glasses recognized the content and turned on. Is that the same thing as passing content from a disc from the console to the receiver and out to the TV?

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Do you have a PS4 or PS3? Is everything going through your Denon? If so, I'm not sure why it won't play off the BD

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·