Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

This weekend I was getting my HTPC ready to show a DVD for the first time after rebuilding it with pretty much all new components. Whenever I turned on DMA on the DVD-ROM and tried playing, the drive would just freeze. I spent a good 2 hours changing settings in Windows and BIOS with no change in the behaviour. I wound up having to bring the DVD player down from the bedroom and hook it up to the projector.

After all of that I did some more searching on MSI's site (motherboard manufacturer) and found one post regarding a problem with round IDE cables and a CD burner. I figured it was worth a shot so I switched the DVD drive off of the round cables and replaced it with a standard ribbon cable. Everything works perfectly now.

Is this a common problem with round cables? This was my first foray into using round cables so I have no other experience than this bad one. Was this just one bad set?

Thanks for any insight you can give about this.

·
Registered
432 Posts
I'm by no means an expert, but a little research turned up a possible problem. It seems in the 80-conductor cable of ATA66 and higher standards, every other cable is a ground cable. This was done to allow the higher speeds.

By splitting up the cables and rounding them together, you eliminate this separation and the chance of crosstalk between wires increases. My findings didn't indicate that it could cause a drive to freeze up, but it could require the drive to resend data and slow down performance. Perhaps this particular DVD-ROM drive has a problem with frequent resend requests?

At any rate, it seems there is a problem inherent in rounded IDE cables. They don't increase air flow over well positioned flat cables anyway.

·
Registered
296 Posts