Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 60" space, and I'm comsidering either a 42" plasma, or a projector

This is for a great room, with 2 story windows in it (windows face south)

I am brand new to this, so I dont know what to do

I already have the entertainment unit

I will be getting digital comcast in HD, as well as Coimcast internet, so dishes are out of the question

I watch probably 50% movies, and 50% TV

I have a wife that doesnt like electronics, so it has to be easy to use (I just got a harmony remote for it, so that shouldnt be a problem)

Please help, I dont know what to do!

I'll post pics once I am allowed to!

·
Registered
3,261 Posts
If you have that small of a space, and that many windows, I'd just get the plasma. (Unless you have a dedicated room you could use for it).

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
I agree, most people when going to the front projection world will plan on a 86" or above diag. screen, 120" in my case :) For that small of space, it would be like buying a Corvette with a V6 :)

·
Registered
597 Posts
Certainly no "WOW" factor with a 60" FP.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
no wow factor, but a good wallet factor

since the pc connection deal went sour, im thinkng thr costco 50" vizio)

·
Registered
3,261 Posts
tough call. the 42" plasma will make for better viewing in moderate to brightly lit conditions. but, for the same price you could get an HD front projector and have an image that is over 100% larger (104% to be exact.) and at that relatively "small" size it should be bright enough to compensate for a decent bit of ambient light.

·
Registered
3,261 Posts
My wallet size doesn't change whether I project a 60" image or 120" (4 times as big)...

Perhaps the screen costs more, but $50 for DIY or even $150 for a screen is nothing to get 4x the size...