Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I'm new here, first post. I have lurked a bit and learned a lot but I need some help. I've been running a Sharp LCD (DW100U) projector for almost five years now. Although it was a pretty decent machine at the time I know there are bettter/cheaper things available now. That said it still serves it's purpose fine (DVDs only). Here's my problem. I just lost the second lamp in this thing. We reall don't use it a lot so in five years the first lamp ran for about 450 hours before the machine went into thermal shutdown. This shuts off power to everything including the cooling fan and the lamp broke. Tech said I hadn't cleaned the air filter often enough. Since then I've been religous about cleaning and second lamp just failed at 650 hours. These units are spec'd at 2000 hours and cost $400 a pop. One more important fact, I live at 7400 feet. Unit is mounted with perfect ventilation but is upside down (air flowing against convection).

Here's the question. Would you:

a)Just keep replacing lamps every two years.

b)Replace lamp but rig an external fan for better cooling to extend life.

c)Replace it with one of the cheaper units now available.

I know a new unit would have better contrast/black level but this unit does 1024x768 so I would loose out on resolution, although only watching DVDs this may not be a big issue. WOuld a new unit suffer the same cooling problems from the altitude?

Thanks for your advice,

Steve

·
Registered
6,402 Posts
Steve,