AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there. I just ordered a new optoma hd20, it's my first projector ever. I'm excited!

What I am wondering is, is it ok to have the projector at ceiling height, but not upside down? Will the image still display properly? Is there anything else I should know about projector location, other than the obvious distance etc?

I want to place the projector on a very sturdy shelf, high up on the wall.

I know a ceiling mount would probably be better, but that won't work for me unfortunately.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
26 Posts
should be fine. Most pj's have vertical lens shift, just go to it's website and download the manual, it will tell you how much.

Vertical lens shift allows you to shift the whole image up or down, in your case down.

Enjoy.

·
Banned
3,453 Posts
No, sorry, you must mount this pj upside down or the image will be on the ceiling! Most DLPs, this one included, don't offer lens shift. They have a fixed offset, usually between 25 and 35 degrees. This means the pj needs to be very low if you don't want to keep it upside down. Since that would put the PJ down at knee level most folks mount them on the ceiling upside down, so the image will land on the wall. Be sure to read the manual carefully, as the relationship between screen size, PJ distance, PJ drop, and screen location are very rigid, no room for error. This is why so many people like LCD projectors, most all of them have vertical and horizontal lens shift.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the reply!

I tried the manual before posting here, but I guess I didn't know what I was looking for.

I was able to find the info by searching for lens shift as you suggested.

I was looking under installation, intstead of configuration I guess.

Thanks again!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The manual for my projector says:

" V Image Shift