AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I've recently come upon the idea of getting a cheap projector off eBay or whatever and building an HTPC rig to drive it. However, I'm rather new to all this, and it seems a bit daunting. I've got some questions about what I should look for in a cheap projector, that I'll be using almost exclusively for DVD watching (though a bit of TV and computer gaming on the side wouldn't go amiss, I think).

First of all, is there a FAQ available detailing the merits/drawbacks of the various front projection TLA's (i.e. DLP, CRT, LCD, etc.)? For instance, I've heard DLP is the best combination of price, picture quality, and portability, but I've also heard there's a strange 'rainbow effect'...

What sort of resolution should be a minimum for ideal DVD watching? I'm thinking 800x600? Though I live in Britain and most of my DVD's are PAL (625 line horiz. resolution) so maybe I need more?

And does it matter if it's 4:3 or 16:9? I mean, if I'm outputting the computer image (probably from a Radeon All-In-Wonder) to the screen, presumably it'll output the 16:9 anamorphic image correctly, as it does on the computer monitor?

And what about brightness? What sort of lumen range should I look for?

Oh, and screens? How much do I need to spend on the screen to get a decent one?

I love the thought of having a 6-foot movie screen in my room, and top quality movies, but there are a few things I need to know about first. That's where y'all come in! =) Any ideas, tips, suggestions appreciated. Thanks for your patience. Cheers,

Dunc

·
Registered
4,720 Posts
Dunc,

I don't believe there is a single FAQ that will acquaint

you with all the merits and drawbacks of FPs - the best

thing to do is read this forum for a while.

LCD projectors are low priced, but suffer from "screen door"

effect.

DLP projectors - if they are 1 chip designs have a problem