AVS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm completely new to the projector world, so bear with me.

I'm currently looking at replacing my dying RP set with a projector. Based on my needs (and budget), I've narrowed it down to the following models:

Epson Home Cinema 720

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Screen: TBD (i might use some Behr silverscreen, or get a pulldown screen, i haven't decided yet).

The room I'll be using has a wall i can use that's roughly 13Wx7.5H with seating 11ft back. The projector would have roughly a 14ft throw. The room is completely light controlled (basement, 1 window w/blackout shades).

This will be my primary display(gaming, tv, movies). When gaming or watching movies I'd most likely make the room dark. Typically when watching TV with the wife, however, we leave the room lights on. They aren't overly bright, but they certainly add some light to the room.

I'm leaning towards the Epson at the moment because of all the posts about lamp issues on the AX200U thread and the fact that Epson has a free lamp rebate going at the moment. I'm a bit conerned about the fact that we do watch TV with lights on. How much will room lighting interfear with these projectors? I'm hoping since they both seem to have relatively high lumen output that they'll be able to deal with a bit of light but this is completely foreign territory to me.

Any input or info would be appreicated!

Mike.

·
Registered
935 Posts
Room darkness (or lack of) will be your biggest single problem. But it's not that sizable in your case. Sunlight is far worse than light from a lamp, and since you're in the basement, you don't have to worry about the sun leaking in. Both of those projectors are bright and decent. Pick the one you're most comfortable with and don't agonize over it.