AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Mitsubishi RPTV appears to be dying and I would like to replace it with a 1080p projector. I will be sitting approximately 14 feet from the screen in a room that is semi dark. The room is in my basement, and there is an opening at the back of my room to my rear yard. However, most of my TV/movie watching will be done either early in the morning or late at night when the room is completely dark. I also have curtains on the doors leading to the rear yard that block out most of the light even during the day.

What projector would you recommend for me at a budget of $5000-7000? I am guessing that my screen size will be approximately 108 inches. And what type (manufacturer) of screen would you recommend I purchase along with the projector.

I have never owned a projector before, so I am a newbie when it comes to projectors and screens.

Your suggestions will be most appreciated.

Cal68

·
Registered
3,576 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by umr /forum/post/15512771

I would suggest you carefully consider light control before you go with a front projector. It takes very little light to ruin the picture. I would try and take a look at a few systems with no light and a little ambient light before you purchase one.

Very good advice and absolutely true.

You are probably going to get many recommendations because there are many great projectors available in your price range and well below. You'll likely be blown away by either of the current RS series from JVC (RS10 or RS20). Honestly, you'd probably be amazed at the results you'd get from a previous generation (used of course) 1080p like the Sony VW60, RS1 or RS2, Epson 1080UB, ...... (most of which you can find with "low" hours for nearly 1/3 your budget).

·
Banned
6,051 Posts