Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

My name is Joe Jasniewski. I'm a newbie to HT using CRT projection; I recently purchased an ECP 4100, after futzing around with numerous LCD panels and OHPs. I'm happy to read here that this unit has flexible optical adjustments and modifyable electronics. I've printed many a thread, and hope to start one of my own, to document my setup and modifications, so that others may find some specifics in just one place.

Just got it hung from the ceiling, about 6 ft up off the floor; cranked it up with a boat winch mounted to the stock ceiling mount pipe! (was hairy for a few minutes there...) I havent even gone through the mechanical convergence procedure yet; I do have the owners manual another technical manual printed out for this unit. I've only looked through the help key procedure...

So, some quick questions; opinions, answers muchly appreciated!

1. I'd like to do the grillework based fan mod, but the projector is up. I do notice clearances in the mounting bracket for the two screws that hold the side panels to the projector bottom. Can these panels be removed in situ?

2. I want to run my signaling (PC, Composite from VCR, S-VGA from DVD, Cable) through a Viewsonic VP box. Is it better to put the box up with the projector (Drive a short RGBHV) and run 4 lengths of signal cable, or is it better to just run one long RGBHV from the Viewsonic? Are there any specific mods to the Viewsonic that I can do which will help it drive 20 ft?