AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to PS3... so this question might have been covered in the past... Did I read the manual correctly that in order for the Contollers to charge, PS3 has to be on? Am I the only one who thinks this is stupid? Would it not make sense to have the controller charge when you are not playing the game?

·
Registered
10,450 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrf4rider /forum/post/12893732

I am new to PS3... so this question might have been covered in the past... Did I read the manual correctly that in order for the Contollers to charge, PS3 has to be on? Am I the only one who thinks this is stupid? Would it not make sense to have the controller charge when you are not playing the game?

You can use any powered USB device to charge a Sixaxis or DualShock3. Many people plug their controller into the USB port on a DVR or PC to charge when not playing a game.

Note that many cell phone chargers that plug into a wall won't work.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ /forum/post/12893778

You can use any powered USB device to charge a Sixaxis or DualShock3. Many people plug their controller into the USB port on a DVR or PC to charge when not playing a game.

Note that many cell phone chargers that plug into a wall won't work.

Thanks for the quick response. I guess I will be using my PC to charge the controller... Wish Sony would fix this...

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
It would be nice it it charged while off like the 360 but I just use a USB extension cable I have laying around to charge while I play, or plug it in to the computer so it is not a real big deal.

·
Registered
10,450 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrf4rider /forum/post/12893875

Wish Sony would fix this...

I don't know if it's fixable -- the controller just needs power from the USB port to charge. The PS3, like most devices, doesn't power the USB ports when its off.