AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I was thinking about buying the Da-lite HCMW 106" or greater. However I have been hesitant due to this "ripple" effect. I was wondering, if the "ripples" became too annoying, is it possible to cut the screen away from the housing and then stretch it over a frame? Has anyone done this successfully before?

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Yes, it is a fairly easy job or should I say that it is no more difficult than Blackout cloth.

Ddog!!

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for you responses guys. I won't feel so bad spending the money on the screen now.

How did you make the frame? Is there somewhere I can go for the design? I'm not very good at constructing stuff, so I'd need a "Building Frames for Dummies" type instructions.

·
Registered
704 Posts
I was just going to post a similar thread. I have a dyi screen that I am interesting in replacing with a High Power. From some searching, it seems like getting the Da Lite Model B would actually be cheaper than getting just the fabric with grommets by about 40%. does not really make a lot of sense, but seems like a decent savings.

my screen frame is just made of 1x2s and L-brackets. Its pretty simple - just a rectangular outer frame with two braces in the center for support. I secured the backout fabric with a staple gun and a ton of staples - not sure if this would be the best way to attach the high power fabric.

I was thinking about maybe attaching velcro strips to the screen fabric which would then rap around the frame and attach to the back. Any suggestions on other attachment methods?

-jeff

·
Registered
217 Posts
Jeff,