AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's my understanding that this performs some sort of disk maintenance.


If I do this, will my recorded shows be erased?


Also, I like the v3.5 software. Will doing this trick force an update to the v3.7 software?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
354 Posts
With 3.5, hitting the power button on the utv, not the remote, rapidly 3 times will allow the unit to essentially defragment the drive & do similar cleanup activities. It should not change any of your settings nor delete recordings. UltimateTV used to recommend doing this monthly before 3.7.


Something has changed though with 3.7 so that pressing the power button rapidly 3 times will often just reset the utv (like code 12357). I don't know for sure but I suspect it doesn't set up the old disk cleaning utilities to be performed. Maybe if someone from the old Microsoft UltimateTV software group reads this they could enlighten us.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
592 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by TVfriend12
It's my understanding that this performs some sort of disk maintenance.

If I do this, will my recorded shows be erased?

Also, I like the v3.5 software. Will doing this trick force an update to the v3.7 software?
It "bascially" performs the same function as unplugging the power and then plugging back in. I should not erase recordings or force a software update. Of course, YMMV.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top