AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to AVS forums as I found you while googling on the web. I have just recently bought a new 42 inch LCD TV, 5.1 surround sound system, and receieved my HD cable box/DVR from comcast. I also have an Xbox 360 and a PC hooked up. My question is what would be the most efficient way to hook all of this up to get the best quality? Right now here is how I have it set up.

Coaxial cable from wall to Set-top-box, coaxial cable from set-top-box to TV. Audio RCAs from cable box to surround sound AUX 1, HDMI from surround sound to TV. Optical audio from Xbox 360 to surround sound. PC to TV via RGB connector, PC sound card to the AUX 2 input on surround sound.

Problem: with the current set up I have an audio/video sync issue when watching regular TV. DVDs do not have this problem. I have read on numerous posts that this can be fixed by setting up a delay but either I cannot find that option in my surround sound, or it does not have it. Any ideas on what could resolve my problems?

Also I have read that there is no difference btwn a 120 dollar HDMI cable and a 30 dollar HDMI cable is this true?

Components (if you need to know to help solve):

Vizio GV42L LCD HDTV

Explorer 8000HD Set-top-Box

LG LH-T9654S surround sound

Xbox 360

Custom built PC

·
Registered
752 Posts
As far as the $120 "monster" HDMI cable. Waste your money if it makes you feel better but bluejeanscable.com (forum sponsor) makes better cables at 1/4 the price.