AVS Forum banner
  • Our native mobile app has a new name: Fora Communities. Learn more.

Question about HD DVD players and Resolutions

490 Views 11 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  spinforu
I realize i may get lashed out at for this question but I am a newbie so to speak and want to know about these DVD Players that output 480p-720p-1080i. Are they any better then running a standard progressive scan DVD player through a Line doubler or line quadrupler? My projector isn't the top of the line (a 1271q) just incase that comes into play in the answers to my question.

I really need a low cost way right now to watch DVD's in the best quality I can with the 1271q and not break the bank at the moment.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Bryan
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Please help, someone out there must have some input on this subject. Pretty please. I don't mean to have such a dumb question.
Hello Bryan,

I have a NEC 9PG+, I can understand where you're coming from, though I've spent a fair amount of money in the past on DVD players and HTPC- still have one of the latter with a MyHD board.

Until Christmas time last year, I was using a Zenith DVB318 with a Key Digital transcoder to drive my NEC; that player was chosen because it has the Faroudja DCDi chipset for de-interlacing (I watch a lot of video sourced stuff). That player, IMO, is ONLY good for 1080i upscaled component; it has isuses with Y/C delays at 480P and 720P, and white crush over the DVI output. A later firmware upgrade reportedly fixed the DVI white crush, but disabled upscaling over component.