AVS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hi everyone, I have been reading on this forum for a while and I have only recently joined.

This place has a lot of great information and great people and I enjoy looking at reviews and just reading through some of the threads here.

I am a newbie to the world of audio and HT and I have recently just got myself a 2.0 set up connected to my aTV for music and movies. It is a very basic DAC + stereo T-amp connected to a set of HT satellites (ML Motion 4's). The Motions have very nice timbre especially in the upper end. Sound is always crystal clear with a lot of extra details that I was not hearing before, even at very low listening levels.

As a next step (into the bottomless AV rabbit hole!) I am considering to add a subwoofer to the system to give the overall sound a bit more low end (as you can imagine the Motions are a bit lacking in that department). With the current simple stereo amp I have the only way I can connect the sub to the system is through line level in/out. I understand it would do me much good to get a receiver with dedicated subwoofer output with room correction and eq functionalities but I would like to keep things progressive in terms of budget for now.

My question is: using the line-level in/out from the subwoofer (I am having the SVS PB-1000 in mind), will it be a nightmare to level match the sub and the speakers? If not could someone shed some light and share their knowledge on how I can acheive that?

Will the volume knob on the subwoofer control the volume of the speakers as well (since the line-out will connect to the amp)?

And I guess the ultimate question is - will it be almost impractical to run such a set up without a receiver?

·
Registered
16,705 Posts
You would need to be able to adjust the volume with the source--your TV--to effectively use the line in/line outs on the PB-1000 with your t-amp.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·