AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this "scene" and I've just aquired a Panasonic 61" LCD Rear projection set. I've done some searching on here and the web, but haven't gotten the exact answers I'm hunting for.

It has a VGA connection on the unit and it claims to support 640x480, 800x600, and 1024x768 (with a * next to 1024x768 indicating it might be a fuzzy picture).

However, the LCD panel has a native resolution of 1280x720. Can I use the resolution?

All of my systems have analog VGA, so I can't try DVI-HDMI yet. I have system with an Nvidia GEForce4 Ti4200 and a laptop with an Nvidia go5200.

Any thoughts, experiences or ideas?

Thanks,

Doug

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
Plug that VGA in, set res to [email protected] Check your manual for PC connections...

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The TV has a VGA connection in the front, but the manual says the resolutions are 640x480, 800x600, and 1024x768. But the panel's resolution is 1280x720. Guess I'll have to contact Panasonic for a definitive answer if this would work.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, I set the display to 1280x1024 @ 60 and gave it a whirl. Got a picture, but it was clearly out of sync.

Moved back to 1024x768 @ 60 and that works perfectly. However, my video doesn't fill the screen anymore.

Anybody have any ideas here?

I'm using an Nvidia Ti4200 w/ the latest drivers that support HD resolutions.

Thanks,

Doug

·
Registered
9 Posts
Instead of 1280x1024 try 1280x720. I have a panasonic 60" LCD RP and it worked quite well at 1280x720 VGA. I'm currently running that resolution through the DVI input and it is beautiful.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am using 1280x720. This is thru the front VGA connector though.

I guess I'll have to bite the bullet and get a DVI board if I want to get 1280x720.

Doug

·
Registered
46 Posts