Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, folks,

I am really new to the digital cable world. So please forgive me if my questions seem too trival. I recently just got a digital TV service set up in my home from comcast. I am currently renting a digital setup box (tuner, or whatever it's called) from them.

I am interested buying a DVD recorder possibely with harddrive built in so I can record programs from the digital TV and burn them into DVD if needed.

I am wondering:

1. Does every or specific DVD recorder w/HD have build in digital tuner so I can bypass the box I rent from comcast? Honestly, I don't really like the box they provide (in terms of its look) and the fact that it has no component out.

2. If previous question is a no (i.e. I need to keep the box in my setup), will the DVD recorder be able to somehow communicate to the setup box and automatically change the channel to the one I like to record?

3. Panny E80 seems to be a common one here. Is there any other one I should consider?

Thanks a lot,

Stanley

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by schien
...I am interested buying a DVD recorder possibely with harddrive built in so I can record programs from the digital TV and burn them into DVD if needed...
Forgive me if I don't exactly understand your Q. Typically, recordings are not made from a TV, digital or otherwise, they are made from an input source like a cable STB or OTA or from a sat receiver. I guess it is possible to own a digital TV that includes a decoder that might provide an analog output that could connect to the inputs of a DVDR, but it sounds like you might have digital cable. That being said, I will broaden the scope of my answer, and hopefully in there you will find what you need.