AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First - I have been lurking around here as a guest for a few days, as I am in the market for purchasing my first plasma, and am trying to get as much info as I can before biting the bullet and making a purchase. This forum was recommended to my by one of the members of a forum I admin, and so far I am glad to be here. Now, as an admin, I constantly harp on new members to search and read before posting "silly" questions and such. While I have tried to do so here myself, I find that there are a lot of threads with a LOT of pages - some of them 100+. And with things changing fairly quickly in a years time or so (5th gen to 8th gen screens), I find that some info listed in threads to be outdated (many threads started over a year ago). So with that being said, I appreciate your patience in bearing with me - and I also appreciate any assistance provided.

My "new" home (old farmhouse) has a very open floorplan downstairs - living/dining, kitchen, and family room are all open to each other. So to me, a wide viewing angle on my new TV is very important. That limited my choices to LCD or Plasma. After reading regret stories from those that bought smaller TV's, I think 50" is what I will want - which pretty much makes my decision plasma. I do have HT gear - but I have not reinstalled it in my new home. I have a Dish Network receiver, but do not see the need to pay for HD programming at this time (for a handful of channels I hardly have time to watch). There are some OTA HD channels availible. I have a premium Xbox 360 (with most all of the 360 games) that I have been waiting to open until I get an HDTV. So, about the only time I'll be using the HD portion of the TV is when playing a DVD, Xbox, or OTA primetime shows. The rest of the time it will most likely be on a cartoon channel for my kids or something.