AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been researching a DLP for about six months now and thought it best to simply keep my mouth shut and listen to what others here had to say, so here's my first opportunity to really ask a question. I have come across the LT-85 for a price of about $1600 and am about a day away from ordering it. I'll be using it with a Panasonic RP-91 proscan DVD player and standard digital cable for right now. With all the talk about the LT-150, it's really got my interest peaked, but knowing that there is a resolution difference between the two, I have some reservations. I guess my question is, does the lower resolution of the 85 result in more visible screen door on the unit than the 150 would display or are they comperable where progressive DVD is concerned? I think I'm just worrying about nothing, but would sure feel better if I could hear it from someone who actually has or has seen these units. I'm going from a Runco CRT, but it's a fairly old one that was never really state of the art, even when it was new (CPD-750 video grade with no component or doubling and the picture's always been unavoidably dark. I'm just tired of the bulk and constant upkeep). I would have loved to have gotten one of those 150s at the Dell price, but the cash wasn't in place at the time and the newer price is just out of my range. Anyhow, any reassurances you could give me would certainly be welcome. Thanks.

------------------

Cliff

·
Registered
578 Posts
Cliff,

Where did you find the LT85 for $1600? I have an LP340 and am thinking of selling it to get either a LT150 or LT85. At $1600, the LP340 gets Ebayed off tomorrow http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif .

As far as the screen door is concerned. that is a problem inherent to LCD units. Not DLP.

·
Registered
1,355 Posts