AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just received a 52G786 and am considering using a calibration disc such as AVIA or DVE. To be honest, my admittedly untrained eye thinks the picture looks pretty flippin' good straight out of the box. I've heard more and more fixed pixel displays are coming from the factory pretty close to reference standard, is that the case with most of these sets? If not, which disc would you recommend to use? The sources are DirectTV HD via component and a Denon 2910 via HDMI. I'm not a complete newbie at this, but accessing the service menus and knowing what to do when I get there sounds rather daunting. ISF calibration isn't an option as the closest certified tech is hours away and charges $1,000-1,500 to come to my town. Ugh...

Thanks for your suggestions.

·
Registered
6,723 Posts
Greetings

It may be easier to get a traveling calibrator to you for much less money. The SRP for an RPTV is $275 ... and then add some nominal travel fee ...

$500 and most likely a lot less should be easily attainable.

Regards

·
Registered
96 Posts
I used the DVE disk found most of the disk to be informative but have only used the basic calibration portion (brightness, contrast, color and tint). I found the color filters to be very useful in setting the exact color and tint. My eyes are not as good as they use to be...

I would like to adjust the grayscale but have yet to find anything concrete as to how to access that portion in the service menu.

·
Registered
4,319 Posts
Support your local ISF guy. He can do much more with contrast and grey than you'll ever get with the Disks. Well worth the money. Mine was 250, but I added a few extra bucks for a quick second look (JIC I switched a source device, which I did)

E

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedeskE