AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to D*. I'll be going through my first South Florida summer season soon where we experience rain just about every afternoon at some point between 2-5PM.

Anyway, just the ohter day I experienced my first rain fade (or heavy cloud cover fade is probably more like it).

I have a Phase 3 dish and had it installed at the highest point of my hosue where it would likely have the best view of the sky with no obstructions (including water running off the roofline). I'm using two of the four ouputs currently and the two unused outputs have 75 ohm terminators on the cable ends. I get 90-99 on most of the transponders on all three locations, A, B and C. There are a few transponders that I get in the mid to upper 80's in strength. Most of these in the 80's are in the Sat A location. All coax is RG6 Quad shield and runs are 25-50 feet max.

Anyway, is there anything I can do to reduce the chance of rain/cloud fade? Some have claimed that using a dish without a built-in multiswitch and using a separate switch can improve things. is this true? if so, where can one find one of these dishes? Everywhere I call they tell me they only stock the phase 3 now.

I know that the best solution is to use 3 individual 36" dishes, but this is not an option for me. I want to do it with a single dish. Suggestions?

If there's likely nothing I can do to significantly reduce the fade, then just let me know. I'd rather not bother if I'm only going to gain a 2% better chance.

·
Registered
40 Posts
HD_Junkie

In order to live through rain fade, your signal strength(s) need to be as high as possible on a bright sunny day. Mine are no lower than 98-99 on a good day so that when the clouds and rain arrive, hopefully they dont drop much below 65-70. Yours might be a bit lower than the near perfect the need to be.