AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear AVS,

I am looking to build a HTPC to playback 720p rips, DVD files, Bluray (through drive), music, pictures, maybe down the line record off my Comcast HD box. This will be going through an entry level home theater setup that can do HDMI audio + Video. I am looking for the home theater system to support HDMI video+audio with either a 5.1 or 7.1 system which is still yet to be decided. All to a 32" Vizio Plasma. Keep in mind I am a college student that is looking to build a solid HTPC that will last me a few years. The TV, and home theater will most likely be upgraded in the next 4-7 yrs. The HTPC will be upgraded to a media server as well down the line I hope.

Here is a build I am piecing together:

Case - The case is still changeable. I want the case to have a lot of internal space to fill with more HDD's if I want in the future. I want it to have a IR receiver (I like how this has 6 internal HDD bays, and comes with a remote) I may upgrade to a lodgitech harmony universal down the line and would like simple compatablity

The motherboard + processor - I decided on with simply reading through the forums and felt it would be a good mid level system which would handle basically everything I throw at it. Also I want RAID support built in incase I want to use a RAID5 array

CPU cooler
- best bang for my buck?

The video card - I am deciding between a Gforce 8600 or a HD radeon of sorts. Any advice on that?

PSU - I need the PSU to be able to handle all the HDD's which may be expanded to fill all 6 spots

HDDs - I put 4 1TB drives in now just so I can get RAID5 up and running, although I may just use 3TB's to start off with. Question - Can I setup a RAID5 array with my 3 HDDs and then add more in down the line without whipping all my current data? Any other 1tb drives are welcome to suggestion.