AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm fairly new to the AVR world and I've spent a number of hours now researching. Wanted to potentially get some feedback from some of the veterans.

I've been looking mostly at mid-range Denon & Pioneer as far as AVRs, however I'm also entertaining the thought of going with a tube amp. I'd like to stay under $2k for a complete set (receivers + speakers).

I would like to ultimately put money into a nice set of tower speakers and potentially stick with just a 2-channel, however I've not seen very many available. The market seems to be flooded with 5 and 7-channels.

I'll be using this primarily for music (vinyl included - just got a Pro-Ject RM 1.3 turntable as a gift), however I plan to run the system through my LGSL90 for dvds, xbox, etc. I understand as I learn more about everything, I'd like to be able to build on the system, which has me leaning toward something with preouts so that I could go with a tube amp down the road. Sound quality is probably the most important criteria here, which had me scoping out Denon. Ultimately I'd like something that's going to blow me away listening to music and is sensitive enough to pickup nuances, etc. I don't necessarily need the "surround" effect for movies etc. Would rather get 2 high-end speakers than 7 mediocre.