AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am just getting started on upgrading from my HTIB system. I have already decided/bought most of the speakers and I am looking for a good receiver to match, preferably under $600.

Fronts - Primus P362s

Center - Primus PC350

Sub - PS-212

Rears - Unknown (P162's perhaps? Suggestions?)

I have been looking at Onkyos, Denons, and HK's from eBay. I don't mind other brands as long as the receiver has 7.1 support and Audyssey or similar. I am primarily looking for the best sound possible for this price - video upconverting and the like are not important since most of my content will be HD over HDMI (games, Blu) anyway. Proper HDMI v1.3 would be my only strict requirement.

It seems like the HK 254 from their eBay store is a very good deal. Will that receiver be able to drive these speakers properly, or would the 354 be a better match? I would be able to save quite a bit of cash going that route, though I would probably lose Audyssey support.

The Denon AVR-1910 and the Onkyo TX-SR607 seem to be good mid-range receivers as well. Would either of these be a better choice? Before the remote problem is brought up, I have a Harmony so the Denon remote wouldn't be used.

This will connect to a LN52A630.

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
3,637 Posts
The 254 is a steal right now and I would go that route. The 354 adds more power but it isn't worth the extra cash. H/K actually puts out their power numbers. Unlike companies like Yamaha that advertise much higher power than they can actually do.

Power between the 3 will be similar and plenty to drive your speakers to loud volumes. Your speakers are pretty efficient (93db) and are really easy to drive.

The 162s would be good rear speakers. They will be the best match sonically which is important for multi-channel music. Not as crucial for movies, but still nice.

·
The Village Idiot
9,828 Posts