AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a poor college student with a large LP collection but no way to play it.

I've been dying to pick up a good stereo receiver and get my vinyl spinning again, but I'm on an absurdly meager budget. I'd like to upgrade or replace/buy all the components in my set-up, if possible, but right now I would settle for a good stereo receiver with a built-in phono stage.

Like I said, this will be mainly used for a vinyl set-up, though I will likely be hooking up my computer and portable media devices to it fairly often.

I'm very much open to vintage receivers if it will help stretch my budget, but quality build is quality build, so if some saintly audio tech company is building quality receivers in my price range, I'm also open to modern tech.

So, for less than $100, is it possible to get a good stereo receiver for use with vinyl?

And, while I'm asking, is there any way to get a decent sub-$100 complete TT/tonearm/cartridge set?

I'd also be open to recommendations for complete front-end systems (speakers, receiver, TT and all) for under $300, preferably more around $200 if possible.

I would also like components with potential, in case I ever stumble around some money to help improve my system.

Hell, I am so open minded, I would even take some diy advice if that would stretch my budget.

·
Registered
6,156 Posts
Assuming you want to buy new, here's what I'd recommend:

Receiver: Sherwood RX-4109

Turntable: Technics SL-BD20

Speakers: Polk Audio R150s

This should run you about $300. If you can afford a little more, or can upgrade later, the first thing to upgrade would be the speakers, and the next thing would be to get a better cartridge. (It takes a p-mount, so replacing it is easy.)

·
Registered
5 Posts