AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently planning the build out of a basement HT and I was so impressed by a CRT I saw in someone's home that I would love to explore getting one. Given space limitations, the largest 16:9 screen I can have is a 92" diagonal. The viewing area of the room is approximately 19' by 11'. The ceiling height is 8'.

So here is my question-- what would you CRT owners recommend? I am interested in a smaller quieter projector. I would love a model I could find used.

I will be watching, if possible, some cable TV with it. So your thoughts on that would be appreciated. Also any thoughts on the screens to go with your choices would be appreciated.

If you need more info. from me, just ask. I am very new to this. Any help would be very much appreciated.

·
Registered
912 Posts
So you like the CRT's huh? Your hooked now.

I suggest anyone of these Sony VPH-1271Q or 1272Q. NEC XG Series, XG110, XG75, XG135 or a DWIN 500 or 700. The DWINS are the quietest, lightest and probably the smallest. The Sony's are easy to set up if your are doing it yourself, replacement parts are still available. The NEC's probably provide the best picture (RUNCO used to use NEC's as their base model.) Both the NEC and Sony's are rather large and weigh a lot more. Check with AV Science for B-Stock NEC's and DWIN's. Eric from www.projectorspecs.com has Sony's. Curt Palme who also frequents this forum I believe also deals with used Sony's and Barco's.

·
Registered
596 Posts
Hello Moke! I am in the Seattle area(Monroe actually). I sell/install projectors for hometheater. I have a couple for sale at the moment. I have sold/installed many projectors over the last 12 years. If you're interested, shoot me an email.....My ph. is 360-805-0754

Regards, Drew

·
Registered
3,902 Posts