AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have recommended settings? I received mine yesterday and do not yet have a calibration disk. Using the THX calibrations at the beginning of Toy Story, Brightness is at -17 and Contrast -3 which when viewing other media appears less than ideal.

First impressions Vs the Sony 32" XBR it replaced...It's Absolutely Stunning in 480P DVD connected to the Phillips PQ50A. I must admit that non-HD satalite images through Dish Network are not as good as when viewed at the dealer connected to Direct TV (I'll keep experimenting, perhaps change providers). Unfortunatley no OTA HD broadcasts in my area.

Jim

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Chris

I'm afraid not, I'm new to this and perhpas I did not ask the right questions. I continue to experiment trying some of the settings posted for the 50, but still find myself constantly adjusting. Currently I am using the following: Fine Mode, Brightness -7, Contrast +3, Color -3 and find the SD images through Dish relatively poor. No OTHA HD in my area and I plan to change to DTV hoping for improvement.

Jim

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
This is what I have today.

Brightness +9

Contrast -5

Color 0

Tint 0

Sharpness 0

Piture Mode Static

Red 241

Green 253

Blue 200

So far I am quite happy with these settings.

·
Registered
260 Posts
J Craig -

My settings are much closer to Chris J's than yours.

Contrast -7

Brightness +4

Color +6

Tint +2

Sharpness 0

Mode Real2 or Static (in static I increase my brightness and contrast a bit)

I'm surprised to hear that someone prefers Fine mode. Maybe it has something to do with your Dish versus my DTV, but I played around with Fine mode for awhile and couldn't deal with how dark it looked. When I use any of the other modes, the plasma is the greatest looking thing in the room; in Fine mode it loses its wow.