Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I am still kind of new to this, with alot of questions. But one of them I have is this. I have a Panasonic DMR-E80H, I was told by someone, that if I record to a DVD-R Disc, but do not finalize that disc, I still have the option to Edit, Add, and Record Entirely over the Disc If I needed to. I do not know if this is true. I was under the impression that all you could do with an UN-Finalized Disc, is continue to record to it, in the amout of space that is left on it. Could someone please let me know? Also, when making copies from a VCR to the E80 I was reading that it is better to use the Composite RCA Cables, so that the VHS Tape would pass through a filter and be cleaned up somewhat, but when Copying from a DVD Player to the E80H, it is better to use an S-Video Cable to the Input of the E80H, because digital signal is better passed through the S-Video input. Anyone have any experience or knowledge of these points?

Thanks, Ray

·
Registered
336 Posts
First question - You have those options on a DVD-RAM disc, but not on a DVD-R disc, even if it has not been finalized. You can only record more if there is space remaining.

Second question - You are correct about when to use Composite and when to use S-video.

John

·
Registered
174 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by JMas
First question - You have those options on a DVD-RAM disc, but not on a DVD-R disc, even if it has not been finalized. You can only record more if there is space remaining.

Second question - You are correct about when to use Composite and when to use S-video.

John

Just to add that you can edit/delete stuff on an unfinalized DVD-R, but any space left by such deletion is not recoverable, since you can only record once on any portion.

duwdu

·
Registered
336 Posts