AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to turntables & just purchased a rega p3-24. The cartridge is a dynavector DV20XL. I had the store where i purchased it do the setup & they installed the rega spacer that can be set at either 2, 4, or i think 6 mm. They used the 4 mm setting.

When i place the dustcover on the turntable it wont go all the way into the hinge on the right side because it is resting on the tone arm. So theres a gap between the table & cover on the one side.

The P3-24 manual says to listen with the dustcover on but i dont think this is possible with the tone arm scraping the lid.

Is this because this cart should be set up with the 2mm spacer?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Does anybody have this setup?

·
Registered
2,575 Posts
Funkymonky123,

I took a quick look at the manual for that TT and it says you can leave the lid down but it does not state you have to. If you want to listen to it till you find your answer just leave it up.

Have you contacted the shop where you purchased this from to discuss this with them and find out why they set it up as they did?

I do not have this set up but maybe mcnarus will see this thread as he (I believe) seems pretty knowledgeable on TT stuff. Also, if you get no definite answer here, try over at www.vinylengine.com , since there are allot of folks over there that maybe able to help.

Do you have any type of RCM ready to go?

James

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Regarding the record cleaning: I was thinking of building one of these when i get the time http://www.teresaudio.com/haven/cleaner/cleaner.html

Right now i am just using an antistatic brush as my vinyl is all brand new.

I did buy some stylus cleaner but i'm not sure how often it would be required.