AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The original remote for this box is small and not easily usable in a dark room.


I know there are hundreds of universal remotes out there but only a few are really good in terms of size and usability.


I'm wondering if some of you could recommend a universal remote that you have had a good experience with?


Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
You may be able to use the latest Mag remote described here.


It works on 5 generations of the Mag HDD/DVD recorders and there's a good chance it'll work on your Mag.


I can't guarantee that but there's one person who might know FOR SURE: DigaDo. I believe he has both HDD/DVD and the ZV recorders.


I hope DigaDo sees this and offers some info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,749 Posts
The Mag 515 remote works on my 2160 and my recently acquired ZV457MG9 combo vhs/dvd unit. It probably will work your ZV450MW8A as well.

Also, I tried a Logitech Harmony 300i from Walmart, and it worked both my Mags. I chose the 515 over it due to the 300i's inability to work a crucial function on the ZV457MG9, setting the Timer Set function needed after setting up a Timer Record. The zv457 didn't come with the original remote, and though the Logitech can be programmed to operate functions that aren't included in the software download (this remote retrieves the codes via the internet with an enclosed USB cable), not having the original meant I couldn't set it to work that function.

The price is in the $26-29 dollar range at Wallyworld.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,530 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo /forum/post/20862987


You may be able to use the latest Mag remote described here.


It works on 5 generations of the Mag HDD/DVD recorders and there's a good chance it'll work on your Mag.


I can't guarantee that but there's one person who might know FOR SURE: DigaDo. I believe he has both HDD/DVD and the ZV recorders.


I hope DigaDo sees this and offers some info.

Yes, I have many Magnavox recorders, standard and HDD/DVD models.


I still have two Magnavox ZV450MW8 models (from 2007) and one Magnavox ZV450MW8A (from 2008). I don't currently have any of these set up for daily use. In the last month I gave away a third ZV450MW8.


The Magnavox 2080/2160/2160A/513/515 remotes will operate most functions of ZV450/457/420/427 series combo recorders and other Magnavox recorders.


As Westly-C mentioned, remotes for the Magnavox HDD/DVD recorders lack the "Timer Set" command. That command is required to put other Magnavox recorders into timer standby mode for recording scheduled programs and also exiting the timer standby mode in order to regain normal control of the recorder. For that reason the "Timer Set" command is essential to the operation of these Magnavox combo recorders.


There is this Note found on page 41 of the ZV450MW8A Owner's Manual:

"• Cancel the timer-standby mode by pressing

[TIMER SET] before operation for either DVD or VCR.

When finished operating, press [TIMER SET] to

resume the timer-standby mode.

• In the timer-standby mode, you can turn on the

power and use the component (VCR or DVD) which is

not currently timer-programmed."



The same Note appears on page 37 of the ZV450MW8 Owner's Manual.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,530 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by esebm /forum/post/20865703


How do those remotes compare in size? They look similar to my old one, size-wise.

The first photo shows the remotes supplied with the Magnavox 2160, 2160A, 513 seen at the top and the remote for the 2080 seen at the bottom. The 2080 remote is the same size as the ZV450MW8A remote seen in the second photo. The remote supplied with the 515 is seen in the third photo.


Again, there is no way to put the ZV450MW8A into Timer Standby or exit Timer Standby when using the 2160, 2160A, 513 or 515 remote.


 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,530 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by esebm /forum/post/20866253


Okay, if the timer standby mode does not work I might as well keep the old remote or I find a universal remote that allows the timer mode to be programmed.

If you go with a universal remote be sure that it is the "learning" type. The Timer Set command would have to "learned" from the original remote by the "learning remote."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,749 Posts
Since we haven't gotten any further recommendations, I still say give the 300i a try. As you still have a working original remote, you'll be able to assign a button on the Logitech to operate Timer Set mode.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top