AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post in these forums in 8 years; I was an active participant, most notably in the Assassin Guide (HTPC build) forum.

I have been running WMC on a home built HTPC since 2008. I rebuilt in 2012 (Asus H87 mobo, i5 Ivy, 2x4 GB DDR stix, modular PS, 128 GB SSD OS Drive + 3TB internal storage for .wtv files all in a Silverstone case). I kept is simple, no complicated plug ins etc. It has been running almost maintenance free ever since.

I also have 2 Cisco/Linksys DMA 2200 extenders (end of life, 12 years old) which I stream all my content (DRM included) to two other TVs in the household (Herein lies a major problem). I would like to replicate these capabilities for the WAF (wife acceptance factor) as it is easier/cheaper to upgrade hardware/software than her.

I use 2 Silicon Dust HDHR Prime boxes, 6 tuners all day... we record NFL, HBO etc The SD tuners have been hands off and I would like to continue using them. But, I do not know how. What hardware, what OS etc. I need to be able to record DRM and stream it to clients in the house. I have absolutely no desire to break the law.

The HTPC still runs quite smoothly (I overbuilt for this exact reason) and has by and large been on autopilot for years. No software tweaking in years, no hardware additions (same green button remote which is worn down, but works fine). DMAs have problems... they appear to be end of life. TVs are from 2008, both Sharps, purchased same day, probably not DNLA. I have a hardwired and robust MESH network. Whatever I do I would like to do so with 4k in mind (not imperative, but why not?)

I've been to/posted in the Kodi forums, communicated with Silicon Dust and have come up empty in so far as the WAF requirement.