AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this and tired of my vcr quality. It has poor resulation with my 100" projector wen recorded on ep and sp I need more than 2 hours. I was looking at a tivo should I consider a replay and why? I have comcast digital cable and am looking for a way to record my favorite weekly tv shows in high quality.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Check out the post "Microsoft, Tivo or Replay?" from earlier today.

Moderators - maybe we should put this in the FAQs ?

Tony

·
Registered
2,263 Posts
Go pick up one of each from a local store, try them both out for a few days, at the varying quality settings, and either keep both, or return one of them...

·
Registered
113 Posts
That's a great idea Brett. That way you can see if you are left-brained or right-brained:

Left-brain - "I don't know what to record, but I know what I like" -> Get a Tivo.

Right-brain - "I am logical, therefore please record the following ..." -> Get a Replay.

Tony

·
Registered
2,263 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by tpattnaik
That's a great idea Brett. That way you can see if you are left-brained or right-brained:

Left-brain - "I don't know what to record, but I know what I like" -> Get a Tivo.

Right-brain - "I am logical, therefore please record the following ..." -> Get a Replay.

Tony
Hard to tell how facetious you're trying to be... if you really think Tivos just guess what it should record, let me know and I'll set you straight! :)

·
Registered
113 Posts
Light-hearted, yes. Facetious, no.

I haven't used a Tivo, but I've read that the Thumbs Up / Thumbs Down feature uses some pseudo-intelligence to record programs that you might like, but not necessarily know about. Definitely a left-brain activity. Or to be precise, the machine is handling the right-brain activity for you.

Where's Dr Toots when you need her psycho-analysis ?

·
Registered
207 Posts
Tony,