Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I'm very new to this ReplayTV stuff. I just got a ReplayTV 4500 and I would like to download some shows to my mac (running OSX 10.2.2) I have DVArchive. What do I do in the network setting in the ReplayTV and OSX.

Thanks Arri:confused:

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
Hmm.

You have no network? How do you get ethernet to your computer and to your replay?

Or are you using modem dialup for the replay?

In Windows, the way to use DVARchive without broadband is to use IVS on your computer and trick the replay into using the computer is a gateway to the internet.

I have no idea how to do that on a Mac.

·
Registered
731 Posts
Arri, it would help if you explained your configuration better. Do both the RTV and the Mac dial-up via modem for Internet access? Are the ethernet ports on each box available?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Replayer TV is using the modem.My mac has a cable modem. Both the ethernet ports on are available. I have ethernet cable hooked from ReplayTV to the Mac. I have a standard ethernet cable and a cross-over cable. Does the cable modem have to be hooked up still? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
731 Posts
Well, a few ideas:

1) Connect the Mac to the Replay via the x-over cable. Assign each device it's own arbitrary IP address. [10.0.1.1 for the Mac and .2 for the RTV, e.g.] Use 10.0.1.1 for the router address. Then fire up DVA and see what happens. I think it should work like that. Remember, you'll need to swtich the Replay over to Ethernet mode [from Modem-mode] before this will work.