AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a bit new to HDTV and am unclear about the various resolutions options and what can display them. This is probably a pretty basic question, but I would appreciate any guidance available.

I'm considering a variety of HDTV display options but am confused by the various resolutions available with HDTV – both from the source and display perspectives. In general, I seem to find that most HDTV RPTVs offer 480i, 480p and 1080i. I've seen quite a few projectors that also offer 720p. If I understand correctly - most 480 (i and p) sources material comes from DVD. Will most RPTVs also display 720p (if provided a source at that resolution) - and if so, is the source HDDVD/HDTV/Other?

Further - I've read several articles that indicate that a Home Theater PC with the proper software will allow you to output quite a number of different resolutions (again - both p and I). I have been looking at several Mitsubishi models as well as the Sony XBR options (all in 16:9 - of course) and would hate to make an investment and not have the flexibility.

Any assistance/insight would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
7,004 Posts