AVS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
They are both in the same price range and I am not open to other brands because I get a discount on these two. Unfortunately I don't know of anywhere to actually listen to either of these speakers in the DFW area. I would love feedback from you all, and if you know of a place that I could compare these I would love to know.

My musical preferences are all over the place, so I'll sum it up that I listen to everything but country, opera, and death metal. I plan to use these 70/30 Movies/Music, but music is most important to me. The only reason for that ratio is time. Most of my time with spent with my wife and kids and they are young so they don't enjoy just listening to music just yet.

·
Registered
534 Posts
I have a lot of experience with the F208, but I haven't heard the LS80 or seen any measurements so all I can do is make some general conclusions based on the design.

The first and probably biggest differentiator of the two speakers is the dispersion pattern. With the JBL, the use of a 2.5kHz crossover on an 8" woofer to a 2"inch tweeter in a bi-radial horn tells us that this speaker will have a rather narrow dispersion pattern. The Revel, by contrast, is designed to have about as wide of a dispersion pattern as is practically possible with directivity matched designs. All things being equal the Revel will tend to sound more spacious and natural as a result, but it may require more consideration about room reflection intensity.

The second difference is the maximum output capabilities. The JBL uses larger drivers through most of the audio band, and they are quite robust. The result is a higher sensitivity and power handling per the published specifications, which will be more comparable than most since they are both Harman companies. If you have a large room and like to listen loudly this is something to consider.