AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have ordered a MSI 845G chipset board called MAX 6580-020 from newegg. It should be here in a couple of days.

I also order an enlight case, a Western Digital 120 GB special edition Hard Drive, A Raden 7500 OEM, a Toshiba DVD drive, a keyboard and mouse from them.

From OCSystem I ordered PC3200 cas2 RAM. About $200 for a 512 MB module.

From Googlegear I ordered the 2.26 GHZ Northwood. There was a price reduction by Intel last weekend. It was $270.

Wish me luck putting it all together, as it is my first build.

Total cost, about 1000 dollars.

Have not ordered a DScaler input card yet. I would like an inexpensive one.

Thanks everyone here, and especially Xcel, for the good advice. As you can see, I took the advice to heart and stayed within the recommendations of the group. It should feed my Barco 1200 quite nicely.

I will start putting it together next Wednesday.

I will post my followup notes here.

John Marcus

·
Registered
189 Posts
Please let us know.

According to MSI, this board only supports pc2100. Will it be able to utilize anything higher?

I guess so. AnandTech has a review using ddr333. It seems fast.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
According to Anandtech, and I think, Tom's Hardware, you can set it up for DDR333. This is an "unofficial" support. There is a documented setting for this in the manual, which is available on the web site as a PDF file. Only the 845G can do this. The 845E does not support this.

I hope it all works.

I got about a zillion questions. What should my resolution and video settings be for my Barco? Where is the sweet spot, or what should I start at? I guess, with time, this will become apparent.

John.

·
Registered
4,310 Posts
Hi JohnMarcus: