AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
984 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the HTPC concept and would like to ask for feedback on whether I am going in the right direction. I read the FAQ sections of the HTPC forum to get started, and have visited the web sites of candidate products. This is a project for our office, but I am doing this as an avocation because of my personal interest in Home Theater- it’s not part of my job.

What I want to do is set up a PC for providing a/v inputs to a Sony PFM 50-C1 plasma monitor (no built-in tuner) that we already have. I need two types of inputs. One would be computer display for such things as PowerPoint, CD-ROM, or Web Sites, and I think we know how to do this.

The other is what I would call Home Theater A/V, which I’m not sure how to do and would appreciate feedback from this forum. Specifically, what I want to do is to be able to display DVD sources, VCR sources, regular TV, and HDTV. I want a PVR capability for the TV sources- at least for NTSC TV, but also for HDTV if feasible, and the ability to record (on tape) regular definition and/or high definition video. If you can think of other capabilities/sources that I should consider, please let me know.