Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This is my first time to post in this forum. I am looking for some advice. I am about to build a media room in my attic and have a number of questions. All opinions or pointers to places where info is located are appreciated! Here’s the facts and questions –

1. My budget is approximately $1000. I expect this to cover a receiver, speakers, wireless media player, and cables. It would be nice if it also covered a DVD player. However, that is not required. I have an Xbox with the DVD remote.

2. Does anyone have experience with the D-Link MediaLounge Entertainment Network 802.11g Wireless Media Player Model: DSM-320. I have a Dell desktop with Windows XP Home. I would like to plug this into my receiver so I can play setlists off of my computer plus internet stations. I would like to hear if anyone has experience with doing this and any lessons learned. This will take about $200 out of my budget.

3. Based on reading some opinions on this forum. Looks like most of you think the way to go is to buy separate components vs. buying a home theater package. I have looked at an Onkyo package (I believe the model was an S780) that sounded pretty good (IMO). Any thoughts here?

4. My media room will probably be 15’ X 20’ or 15 X 25’. Any thoughts on brands and models of receivers and speakers? I have time to shop and buy as things go on sale. Any thoughts on 5.1 channels vs. 6.1 vs. 7.1?

5. Any pointers on acoustics in the room? I have heard there are lots of things out there I can do as far as various types of drywalls and paints. I haven’t really researched this.