AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am up with most technology especially on the TV and surround sound topics. Unfortunately this is my first time I am facing a projector and in ceiling surround sound setup. So that has led me to this forum.... I have read quite a few of the threads, but nothing has really jumped out at me. I have looked at the specs online of listed projectors and I don't know what to compare them to.

Here is what I am working with:

-Plenty of space.... large basement room with a TON of room for screen size. I would like to go as big as I can without making a sacrifice on quality. First priority would be quality, and second size.

-It is going to be in an open room where there will be a bar so there will be occasional lighting, but it can be completely dark as well. I guess maybe a projector that does well with some light would be best.

-My idea is to run through a ceiling mount... but I'm not opposed to other suggestions.

-I know the new move is 3D and was actually checking out the new Sharp today at a shop. I am not set on spending the extra money for the technology as I don't think the overall market is using the technology to a significant degree. Anyways, I am open to 2D and 3D ideas.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated... If I am forgetting to ask any questions or overlooking anything please let me know any aspects I am not considering. Like I said I am new to the projector scene. I worked through college as an electronic salesman 4 years ago, but as you know technology has changed so much since then and they did not have a focus on ANY projectors.

Also, I just wanted to add that the BenQ W6000 caught my eye on another post. Any thoughts for how this would work in the described room and if it would be the best pick what size screen would work the best with this projector.

·
Registered
17,931 Posts
Specific room size .. viewing habits .. dedicated vs multi purpose .. etc ..