AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to home theatering and i was just wondering how i could run wires in wall. OR just at least make it look nice and simple rather than having wires hanging on the wall or just chilling on the ground. especially for rear channels.

greatly appreciated!!!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hi there....I'm relatively new to all this too, but I just finished running some wires. Basically, I pulled speaker wires up from a hole I cut in the wall. Placed a switch box in the wall so I could plate it later. Ran the wires through the attic. The hard part was coming back down the other wall. I had to cut about 5 rectangular holes for each wire I was dropping down the wall. I had some horizontal beams that I could not drill through from the attic, so I drilled the first hole in the beam over the wall, dropped some chain down and then cut my smaller holes in the wall to allow me to drill through the horizontal beam and fish the chain down from the attic. Probably not the neatest solution, but everytime I cut a hole in the wall I found that I was staring at about 1.5 ft of 2x4s stack on top of each other or a big cluster of electrical wires. Those are the reasons I had to cut so many holes. Basically, I was looking for a clear spot to drill through the horizontal beam (between the two studs) and still be able to get to the chain.

I finally got my wires run, and then made a trip to home depot to pick up some drywall tape and joint compound to patch up the mess I made. Now you can't even tell I had my walls all cut up and I have rear speakers mounted neatly on the wall!

If you've got the time to spare, and aren't afraid of fixing what you destroy then you shouldn't have a problem getting wires run. Good Luck!

·
Registered
331 Posts
That's a rather broad question, but the answer is --- "with care".