AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have about $1500-$2000 to spend on a new subwoofer. I have been looking at the Rythmik audio FV18 and the PSA V1812. The room is about 14x12x8' to ceiling. The area in which the subwoofer will be facing is half open (similar to picture except it goes back an additional 8 ft and will not have listeners in it).

I am looking at 90% gaming, 5% movies then and 5% music (rap/EDM bass heavy music). There is also the PSA V18 PAL version, I am not sure how that will compare to the v1812. The subwoofer will most likely end up being ported.

Is there also another subwoofer recommended in this price range?

Edit: Updated usage percentage

Attachments

·
Registered
I like big cones and I cannot lie !
1,000 Posts
Good question. Most come here looking for a HT usse woofer. I'm far from an expert, but my guess is most will say the V1812 for music as you don't need to hit sub 20Hz much with music and the midbass from the PSA speaker will probably trounce the Rythmik. The FV18 is more geared to low extension. However, Rythmik makes a hell of a woofer so its kind of a toss up but like I said, I think most will lean towards the PSA. In reality you cant make a bad choice.

Other choices? HSU, some might say Monoprice. I would keep it to PSA, Rythmik, and HSU.

Reactions: rhelliott2

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
If you're all about music and EDM then definitely the V1812. You could also look into the TV1812, a lot of EDM and hip hop has bass below 20hz.

If I were you, I would order the FV18 and the TV1812 and keep whatever sounds best to you.

·
Premium Member
923 Posts
Looks like maybe you updated your post after the responses, or I'm missing something about the music focus.
I would say you'd be 100% happy with any of the subs mentioned here for your use primarily with gaming and a bit of HT and music.
I would recommend the FV18 over the others because I know it and it's amazing.