AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(Skip to third paragraph for the actual question)

Hi. I apologize beforehand for any ignorance, because I'm new to home theatre systems in general. I'm right out of college, and obviously on a low budget, and some of my friends and I are going to share an apartment. We're considering that we each buy a component that is necessary for a media room that is decent for our tight budgets (TV, audio, game system, furniture). Since I love music (all types, from classical to hip-hop), I decided to take the sound.

First of all, after just a few hours of research, I'm on the conclusion that the s590's are likely the best (or at least one of the best) receiver and speakers I can get (even considering buying by components) for

·
Registered
6,468 Posts
HTIB systems in general come packaged with poor quality speakers and sub. Cost have to be cut somewhere to compete in the market. What seperates Onkyo and Yamaha HTIB systems from the rest is they include a quality stand alone receiver that you'd get if you purchase one seperate, but the speakers and sub are still going to be of inferior quality.

Now, will you be happy with music with the quality of speakers and sub these systems provide, only you can answer that, if you're a casual listener and just want some good sound with a bit of help from the sub, probably so. If you listen at above normal volumes, want great claraty, seperate and tight puchy bass, "NO".

I don't know what your budget is but from what idea I get of what you're wanting you might want to consider starting out slow with a good quality 5.1 receiver and a pair of speakers, this will get you well on your way to a system that will blow away an htib package, of course your cost are going to be more in the end. If you could list an exact budget would help in deciding.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·