AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to multi-channel audio. As I understand it, most SACD and DVD-A players utilize fixed crossovers for the LFE channel, which are typically set at 80 Hz. For 5.1 movie soundtracks, I have a set-up with an external electronic crossover. On my pre/pro I set the subwoofer to OFF and the main L/R speakers to LARGE, which routes all the LFE to the main speakers. Then I use the external crossover to set the high-pass to the main speakers at 60 Hz, and then low-pass and gain control on the subwoofer is variable and I have it dialed in a little south of 60 Hz right now. I'm wondering if I can use a similar technique for multi-channel audio?? Does anyone else use a similar configuation?

-TBain

·
Registered
6,141 Posts
There will be a potential problem doing that with MC hi-rez players.

As you probably know, most players require that you use the 5.1 analog connection for DVD-A and SACD. And since most receivers and pre/pros do not do BM on the 5.1 input, you will need to do BM in the player.

Here's the problem: Most players will not redirect the .1 channel to the mains when the player is set to No Sub. As such, you will have no way to get the .1 to the mains, for it to be crossed over by your external crossover.

You would need to find a player that will redirect the .1 to the mains, or find some other way to do it, such as with an Outlaw ICBM.

BGL

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmmmm, that kind of stinks. Do you know of any DVD-A or SACD players that have more sophisticated base management? For example, different/variable crossover settings for the different channels.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #5