Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this stuff but plan on getting a 507, if I can find one :D

From what I understand, the 507 contains the Faroudja 3:2 technology to convert interlaced video to progressive video. Does this mean I don't need to buy a progressive DVD player in order to get progressive DVD video? Are there any advantage to having a progressive DVD player anyway?

Thanks,

Bill

·
Registered
1,710 Posts
Does the 507 and 437 automatically detect if an input is film or video and apply the 3:2 without our knowing it?

I'm kind of lost when it comes to the nuts and bolts of the workings inside the box. Example, I know what 3:2 is, but when is it used and by what, the DVD player or TV?

I have a progressive Tosh DVD, should I let the TV do all the signal hockus pockus and feed it movie mode from the DVD?

What is Film Mode in the picture settings?

·
Registered
3,679 Posts
The Faroudja algorithms in the 507 will auto detect which is appropriate by monitoring the signal. It is known to be about the best there is.

Ken

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by gpflepsen
I'm kind of lost when it comes to the nuts and bolts of the workings inside the box. Example, I know what 3:2 is, but when is it used and by what, the DVD player or TV?
The 3:2 pulldown technique must be applied in order to convert the film frame rate of 24 fps to the video frame rate of 30 fps. So any material on video that originated as film will have 3:2 pulldown. To prevent some really ugly artifacts, it is important that any device deinterlacing a film-originated video signal detect 3:2 pulldown and handle it correctly during the deinterlacing process. The 3:2 pulldown detection and compensation must occur in the device doing the deinterlacing.

Quote:
I have a progressive Tosh DVD, should I let the TV do all the signal hockus pockus and feed it movie mode from the DVD?