AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've tried all four HDMI ports and am even using a Seiki HDMI/usb cord specifically meant for upconversion and when I press info on my TV it's still showing the output as 1080i. I've messed around with other UHD TVs before and it should at least show that it's being outputted in 2160p, correct?

Is there something I'm doing wrong? Is this model not good at upscaling? I still have a couple more weeks to take it back to Best Buy. I bought a 55" open box model for $900 so I got a pretty good deal. But I'm still looking at the LG 55" ($300 more) and the Vizio P series for $999. Any advice y'all could give would be appreciated. I'm new to this technology and it's extremely tough to find straight answers on many of these questions. Especially when BB doesn't even allow you to try out the TVs.

·
Registered
10 Posts
This sounds correct. When you press info and it says 1080i, that's telling you what the input is from your source.

If this is a 4K set, then it has that many pixels and there is no way that the output can be anything other than 4K, or not all the pixels would be lit. By definition, the TV is upscaling the input just as you want it to.

·
Registered
384 Posts
Yeah, what Vortec said is correct. It's telling you the signal that it is receiving, not what your screen is displaying. It's always 4K on your screen. It upscales automatically. When it says 1080i, it's telling you that it's upscaling from 1080i to 4K.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5